They haven't posted the official times yet, but that was what my trusty watch said, so I'm going with it. Plus, I'm not sure my time will be included in the official results. Apparently, though I submitted my registration materials weeks ago (in person, at the sponsor's office), they had no record of my registration, so I wasn't on the entrants list. They did go ahead and give me a number and let me race, but they didn't really get my information, so it was a bit disappointing. There were only a dozen or so people who beat me to the finish (courtesy of a fairly small overall turnout), so I might have "placed" in my division. As is, I don't think I was even assigned to a division at all.
Oh well. Still had a great time, and was delighted with my improved performance. Plus, the race officials said the event raised almost $7,000 for the Shriner's Children's Hospital--very impressive. (I'm assuming there were some generous donors, because the number of entrants alone couldn't have raised that much money.)
Beautiful.
It's one of the things I've loved about several of the places we've lived during the last decade--finding little oases of Nature within a stone's throw of the city's hustle-bustle.
Anyway, I had a great time. I'm looking forward to the next race--that one truly will be a neighborhood race--our street even comprises 1/3 of the race route! No official sponsors, no race numbers, no police escorts, no fancy timing clocks--just neighbors out running together. It's hosted by the congregation-next-door, and it's FREE.
So I've invited the kids to run this one with me. S accepted the invitation right away. R's not so sure. When I invited L, her response was something like, "Ummmm, no. I don't think I want to." Then, I told her that one of her best friends from school/church has run the race for several years. Her response? "Ohshe'sgoingtodoit?Wow,thatsoundslikealotoffunIthinkIwillraceafterallYeah,sheandIcouldruntogetherand..."
Sigh.
